"Communication Skills" tagged articles

Why the Right Questions Matter: Our Expert Interview With Dean Nelson

In this month's podcast, journalist, academic and writer Dean Nelson talks to Mind Tools about interviewing techniques. What are the secrets...

Accepting Praise – How to Own Your Achievements

There's a lot of advice on giving praise, but how can we accept it gracefully? Mind Tools' Editorial Assistant, Alice Gledhill, explores why...

15 Brilliant Productivity Apps

These days there’s an app for everything. They can range from the truly weird (like Nothing – literally a screen that shows the word...

Your Tips for Giving and Receiving Instant Feedback

“Turn the wheel a bit slower, Lucy,” my driving instructor repeated. “Slower… slower… SLOWER!” “I ...

5 Ways to Avoid Death by PowerPoint Presentation

If you’ve never heard the expression “Death by PowerPoint,” take a look at the Grim Reaper’s* slide, below.  I̵...

The Key to Negotiating an Amazing Job Offer!

In the United Kingdom of the 1980s, there was a television drama called Boys From the Blackstuff, in which one the main characters would r...

#MTtalk: The Art of Asking Good Questions

“Knowledge is knowing the right answer. Intelligence is asking the right questions.” – Unknown. Three Questions When I teach ...

The Art of Asking Good Questions: Join our #MTtalk

Please Join Us! What: #MTtalk Where: Twitter When: Friday, 26 May @ 1pm EST (5pm GMT/10:30pm IST) Topic: The Art of Asking Good Questions Ho...